Spanish Pipedream

As you know I like John Prine. I’m draggin’ the wife to go see him in May for our wedding anniversary, when he comes to town. Well while listening to music as I worked tonight I finally listed to the lyrics of ‘Spanish Pipedream’. It made me smile, ’cause it sort of reminds me of this little endeavor of ours; especially in light of our new peach tree acquisition this week. It’s a fun little song, about a guy and a stripper. While I didn’t marry a stripper, the chorus kind of sums things up around here:

 

Blow up your T.V. throw away your paper
Go to the country, build you a home
Plant a little garden, eat a lot of peaches
Try an find Jesus on your own”

 

-John Prine ‘Spanish Pipedream’

 

Now that we have the trees I’m suddenly keying in on every peach song I hear on Pandora or wherever. And they seem to be country oriented and relatively happy.

Maybe my brass ring was a peach tree all along.

Pregnant Doe

While taking a break this morning to watch the deer eat the clover in our yard, I noticed the one doe has a distinct bulge in her midsection that the other deer don’t have.

She must be pregnant.

So with a little luck we’ll have a one or two new fawns dancing in the yard before Summer comes.

Our pregnant doe in the foreground.

Our pregnant doe in the foreground.

I'm no scientist, so I don't know for sure but the other two deer very well could be her fawns from last year.

I’m no scientist, so I don’t know for sure but the other two deer very well could be her fawns from last year.

Having clover in the yard means the deer do some of the mowing chores for me.

Having clover in the yard means the deer do some of the mowing chores for me.